Julia Schwarzbach & Nic Lloyd: Recreation

Julia Schwarzbach& Nic Lloyd: Recreation

Performance – 60 min


Recreation is an ongoing research-project and for tanzhafenFESTIVAL Linz will play as a site-specific event at the venue RAUMSCHIFF.


Two bodies inhabit a space marked out in dirt. It could be a garden, or a whole other world. The bodies are busy: with themselves and each other, with the dirt, and with what the dirt contains and reveals. Are they planting or burying? Working or playing? Gardening or dancing? Is this the beginning of time or the end of the world, or somewhere else altogether?

Invoking the mundane and the mythic, archetypal and domestic, “Recreation” questions conceptions of body, earth and work, and investigates some of the meetings and negotiations that go on between them. By reducing down to the fundamental elements represented by body and earth, “Recreation” searches for new and forgotten ways of viewing and understanding our relationships to physical identities and roles, the kinds of work we do alone and together, and the ground beneath (all) our feet.


concept, performance: Nic Lloyd and Julia Schwarzbach

dramaturgical advice: Simone Aughterlony


Julia Schwarzbach is a dancer and performer based in Salzburg. She has worked with numerous choreographers including Sasha Waltz, Ivana Müller, Gill Clark, Rosalind Crisp, Zoe Knights and Barbara Bess. Since 2010 she produces and tours her own work, playing venues like the Barbican London, Matadero Madrid and BE Festival Birmingham. In 2014 she initiated the Salzburg-based performance and research collective under construction and in 2015 conducted a Turbo-residency research at impulstanz Vienna, together with Nic Lloyd. For Toihaus Theater Salzburg she develops and tours performances for the youngest world-wide. Julia is a member of tanz_house Salzburg and since 2016 part of the apap-network by SZENE Salzburg

(http://apapnet.eu/artists/julia-schwarzbach/)

 

Nic Lloyd is a performer and DJ of UK & NZ background.  He began his career in 2005 working with Simone Aughterlony and has worked with numerous directors and choreographers since, including Tine Van Aerschott, Jonathan Burrows, Alexandra Bachzetsis, Isabelle Schad, and several more times with Aughterlony, performing on stage, street and film, in galleries and outdoors, for adults and children, in countries all over Europe, predominantly in Switzerland, the Netherlands, Germany, and now in Austria.  He premiered his first solo work in 2014 and helped form the Salzburg based performance and research collective ‘under construction’ in 2015.  He graduated MA Performance in 2011 from Roehampton University, London.  He lives in Salzburg.

PROGRAM OVERVIEW

FRI 19/05/2017 // RAUMSCHIFF

8 pm

Tickets
Foto: Nikos Stavlas

logo

Apr
20
editta braun company: LoSt
TRIBÜNE LINZ Theater am Südbahnhofmarkt
Apr
23
Apr
27
Masterclass: K-POP
Musiktheater Linz
Apr
27
Warm Up for All: Wake Up Flow
RedSapata Tanzfabrik
Apr
27
Apr
27
Masterclass: Flamenco
Musiktheater Linz
Apr
27
Workshop: BodyParkour
RedSapata Tanzfabrik
Apr
27
Masterclass: Musical Jazz
Musiktheater Linz
Apr
27
Workshop: K-POP
RedSapata Tanzfabrik
Apr
27
Workshop: Flamenco
RedSapata Tanzfabrik
Apr
29
Choreo Lab #2: Iris Heitzinger
RedSapata Tanzfabrik
Apr
29
E.DANNA: It’s only my world my life
Ars Electronica Center – Deep Space
Apr
30
DAB Dance Project: First Abundance Society
Posthof – Zeitkultur am Hafen
Apr
30
Anni Taskula & Gergely Dudás: Jessie & James
Posthof – Zeitkultur am Hafen

Julia Schwarzbach & Nic Lloyd: Recreation

Julia Schwarzbach & Nic Lloyd: Recreation

Performance – 60 min // im Anschluss Publikumsgespräch und Auflegerei


„Recreation“ ist ein fortlaufendes Research-Projekt und spielt für das tanzhafenFESTIVAL Linz in einer ortspezifischen Version in der Galerie RAUMSCHIFF.


Zwei Körper bewohnen einen mit Erde gefüllten, abgegrenzten Raum. Es könnte ein Garten sein; oder eine ganz andere Welt. Die Körper sind beschäftigt – mit sich selbst, miteinander, mit der Erde und dem was sie hervorbringt und verbirgt. Pflanzen oder begraben sie etwas? Ist das Arbeit oder Spiel, Tanz oder Gärtnern? Blicken wir auf den Beginn oder das Ende der Zeit, oder auf etwas ganz anderes? In „Recreation“ treffen Weltliches und Mythisches, Archetypisches und Häusliches aufeinander.

Schicht für Schicht graben sich Julia Schwarzbach und Nic Lloyd vor zu unseren Auffassungen und Ideen der wesentlichen Elemente „Körper-Erde-Arbeit“ und erkunden mögliche Begegnungen und Verhandlungen im Dazwischen. Sie suchen nach neuen und vergessenen Sichtweisen auf unsere Körperidentitäten und Rollenbilder, auf die Arbeit die wir alleine und gemeinsam tun, auf das Verhältnis zu dem Boden unter unseren Füßen und der Erde, die wir alle bewohnen.


Konzept, Performance: Nic Lloyd und Julia Schwarzbach

Dramaturgische Asisstenz: Simone Aughterlony


Julia Schwarzbach ist Tänzerin und Performerin mit Sitz in Salzburg. Sie arbeitete mit zahlreichen Choreographen u.a. Sasha Waltz, Ivana Müller, Gill Clark, Rosalind Crisp, Zoe Knights und Barbara Bess. Seit 2010 produziert sie ihre eigenen Stücke, geht damit auf Tour und bespielt Veranstaltungsorte wie das Barbican  Center London, das Matadero Madrid und das BE Festival Birmingham. 2014 initiierte sie das Performance- und Forschungskollektiv „under construction“ in Salzburg und führte zusammen mit Nic Lloyd eine Turbo-residency Forschung bei impulstanz Wien durch. Für das Toihaus Theater Salzburg entwickelt sie Performances für die Jüngsten weltweit. Julia ist Mitglied von tanz_house Salzburg und seit 2016 Teil des apap-network der SZENE Salzburg.

 

Nic Lloyd ist Performer und DJ mit britischem und neuseeländischem Hintergrund und lebt in Salzburg. Er begann seine Karriere 2005 in Arbeit mit Simone Aughterlony und arbeitete seither mit zahlreichen Regisseuren und Choreographen, u.a. Tine Van Aerschott, Jonathan Burrows, Alexandra Bachzetsis, Isabelle Schad. Er performte auf Bühnen, Straßen und Filmen, in Galerien und im Freien, für Erwachsene und Kinder, in ganz Europa, vorwiegend in der Schweiz, den Niederlanden, Deutschland und Österreich. 2014 feierte er mit seinem ersten Solo Premiere und half 2015 dabei, das in Salzburg ansässige Performance- und Forschungskollektiv „under construction“ aufzubauen. 2011 schloss er das Masterstudium Performance an der Roehampton Universität in London ab.



Im Anschluss an die Vorstellung findet das Format Rehearsing Attention statt. Danach wird Nic Lloyd als DJ auflegen.

ZUR PROGRAMMÜBERSICHT

FR 19.05.2017 // RAUMSCHIFF

um 20:00 Uhr

Tickets
Foto: Nikos Stavlas